IIM Calcutta confers students at 47th Annual Convocation, Kapil Sibal, Ajit Balakrishnan grace occasion

 | April 02,2012 06:15 pm IST

The 47th annual convocation at the Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta (IIM-C) was held at the Joka campus of IIM Calcutta on Monday, the 2nd April afternoon. The Convocation happens to be the most important day in the Institutes academic calendar.

The whole IIMC community and especially the graduating students have been eagerly looking forward to this day to earn academic recognition in the form of diplomas or titles. Shri Kapil Sibal, Honble Minsiter of HRD, Communication & IT, Government of India would be the Chief Guest. Mr. Ajit Balakrishnan, CEO Rediff.com and the Chairman of IIM Calcuttas Board of Governors, presided over the ceremony. Director, Professor Shekhar Chaudhuri spoke on Annual Report of the institute for the year 2011-2012.


Award of Prizes were given away by the Chief Guest, Shri Kapil Sibal, which followed his Convocation Address. Chairman, Board of Governors, Shri Ajit Balakrishnan delivered his address after the award of 'Fellow' to the outgoing Fellowship students and 'Diploma' to the outgoing PGDM, PGDCM and PGPEX students ceremony is over.


Ten students received Fellowships while Diploma were awarded to successful PGP students which include 298 in PGDM and 52 in PGDCM. The Diploma were also awarded to 44 students in PGPEX and all 34 PGPEX VLM students will be convocating at IIT Madras during their convocation to be held later this year.


The successful ten Fellowship students are Vivek Rajvanshi and Titas Rudra of Finance & Control group, Soumyajit Kumar of Operations Management group, Soumya Sarkar and Vikas Goyal of Marketing group, Ram Babu Roy of MIS group, Apalak Khatua and Anshuman Tripathy of Behavioural Science group, Indrajit Mukherjee of Strategic Management group and Roohi Gupta of Sociology.


In PGDM, Gaurav Teltia, Nikhilesh Chaudhary, Sruti Ravi secured 1st rank, 2nd rank and 3rd rank respectively. Gaurav Teltia also received Late Sumantra Ghoshal Award for Academic Excellence for receiving highest CGPA at the end of the two-year Post Graduate Programme (including all 6 terms) also won the Aditya Kashyap Memorial Scholarship for receiving highest CGPA in Compulsory & Elective Courses while Aparna N Pillai received IIMC Alumni Association, Calcutta Chapter Gold Medal and Cash Award for outstanding Academic Performance in PGDM by Female Student. In PGDCM, Vipul Singh, Vibin Prabhakaran, Vikram Gunda secured 1st rank, 2nd rank and 3rd rank respectively. In Non-academic/Extra-curricular Prizes/Awards category, Deepak Kumar Malani won B.S. Dua Memorial Prize for Organizational Ability, Adrit Mishra won Bharat Chamber of Commerce Medal for the most balanced and progressive outlook to management problems, Vikas Saxena won Pawan Tyagi Prize for the best sportsperson of the year 2011 and Sahil Ahuja won Dr. B.C. Roy Memorial Prize for the most outstanding contribution to campus life in the year 2011.


In PGPEX, Himansu Shekhar Tripathy held first rank and won the gold medal sponsored by the Calcutta Chapter of the IIMC Alumni Association. Ms. Bharvi Vardhan Chaurasia held second rank and won the silver medal sponsored by the IIMC PGPEX First batch Alumni, Kapil Sharma held third rank and won the silver medal sponsored by the IIMC PGPEX Fourth batch Alumni. All these three students along with Ms. Surabhi Gupta, the fourth rank holder won the Institute Book Prize and their names will appear in the Directors merit list.