Sujatha, Senthiwapang, Gaurav & Ashutosh of BITS Pilani bags prestigious Aditya Birla Fellowships

 | October 04,2012 05:27 pm IST

Four first year students of BITS Pilani , namely, Miss Sujatha Sharma, Mr. Senthiwapang , Mr Gaurav Ghosh and Mr Ashutosh Madhavrao Bable were among the 38 Aditya Birla Fellowship awardees of this year who were chosen from the following premier institutes of the country : IIMs/XLRI Jamshedpur, the IITs, BITS Pilani, The WB National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata, NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad, National Law School of India University, Bangalore and National Law University, Jodhpur.

Selection process consisted of evaluating top 20 students from each from each of the above premier institutes . The process led to the shortlisting of 85 aspirants who were interviewed in Mumbai on 22nd September 2012 by an eminent jury. Of these, 38 students were named Aditya Birla scholars.

Eminent jury include : Justice B. N. Srikrishna (Retd.), Justice R V Raveendran (Retd.), Mr. Darius Khambatta, Advocate General, Maharashtra, Mr. Rajat Gupta, Director, McKinsey & Co, Dr. J. P. Mittal, Distinguished Professor & Meghnad Saha Professor, BARC, Prof. Vijay Singh, National C0-0rdinator, Science Olympiads, Homi Bhabha Center for Science education, TIFR, Mr Uday Khanna, Chairman, Lafarge India Pvt Ltd, Ms Zia Mody, AFZ & Partners, Mr Janmejaya Sinha, Chairman Asia Pacific, Boston Consulting Group.

Aditya Birla Scholarship Program was initiated in 1999 in the fields of Engineering and Management to incubate tomorrows leaders today. The Aditya Birla Group Scholarship covers the academic fees as well as the hostel fees for the duration of the course, commencing with the academic session of the first year.