CMAT 2012 registration begins

 | December 10,2011 04:19 pm IST

All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) recently announced the dates for computer based Common Management Admission Test (CMAT) 2012.


The CMAT registration window is open from December 9, 2011 till January 9, 2012 for online registration of candidates, while the exam will be conducted online from February 20 to 28, 2012 at 61 cities throughout India.


AICTE has introduced the test, based on a judgment of the Supreme Court of India, to reduce the excessive burden on students of attending multiple examinations, despite the fact that a majority of MBA aspirants in India had already appeared for some of the most prominent MBA entrance exams when the registration process for CMAT had just begun. Moreover, AICTE has not yet released the list of b-school who shall be accepting CMAT scores.


According to AICTE, the initiative has been taken to reduce physical, mental and financial stress imposed on students through number of entrance exams being conducted by various institutions, which so far looks like a vague thought.


CMAT will be a national level test to be conducted online in a nine days window in two shifts. The duration of the test will be three hours and the total number of questions will be 100.


The questions will be divided in 4 sections, each section having equal number of questions—Quantitative Techniques & Data Interpretation, Logical Reasoning, Language Comprehension and General Awareness. There will be equal marking scheme for all the sections, each section carrying 100 marks. There shall be negative marking for wrong answers, for each wrong answer 1 mark shall be deducted.


CMAT scores will help students seek admissions in all management programmes (4 lakh seats) in AICTE approved institutions/ university departments.


The printouts of admit cards will be available from January 30, 2012. The results will be declared on March 11, 2012 and the printout of the scorecards will be available from March 11, 2012 till April 11, 2012.