IIM Raipur to felicitate Disaster Management Heroes in ICHL2013

CoolAvenues Newswire | November 28,2013 02:08 pm IST

Indian Institute of Management Raipur is organizing ICHL2013: an International Conference on Humanitarian Logistics during Dec. 2-3, 2013 at Raipur.

The conference aims to heighten the awareness of critical issues in humanitarian logistics and provide a platform for deliberations and cross-fertilisation of ideas, themes and practices. The Conference is to be attended by large number of delegates from India and abroad including policy makers, top government officials, international experts, industry captains, leading thinkers, eminent professors and researchers. The Conference features four power packed panel discussions, six technical sessions and six plenary sessions.

As a part of the ICHL 2013: An International Conference on Humanitarian Logistics organized by IIM Raipur, the Organising Committee had set up a Jury to select outstanding institutions which have made significant contributions in the field of Humanitarian Logistics and Disaster Management in India. The eminent Jury was chaired by Gen Vij, Former Chief of Army Staff and Former Vice Chairman, National Disaster Management Authority, Government of India, and consisted of Shri K M Singh, Hon'ble Member, National Disaster Management Authority, Government of India and Shri PP Shrivastav, IAS (Retd), Former Member, North Eastern Council, Government of India. Prof. N. Vinod Chandra Menon, Former Member, National Disaster Management Authority, Government of India and Conference Co-Chair, ICHL 2013 assisted the Jury and coordinated the process of selection of the institutions for the Awards. The Awards for Excellence in Humanitarian Action was established by IIM Raipur to recognize those institutions which have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to humanitarian action in India. These exemplary efforts have strived to improve the human condition by saving lives, improving the quality of life, and alleviating suffering, while supporting and contributing to the basic human dignity of those in need.

IIM Raipur will felicitate and acknowledge the disaster management heroes during the Valedictory Session on 3rd December in the five categories

1)Early Warning and Dissemination

2)Disaster Preparedness

3)Search, Rescue and Evacuation

4)Post-Disaster Relief Operations

5) Rehabilitation and Reconstruction

The award will celebrate the triumph of the human spirit and its resolve during the disaster situation. The unsung heroes/institutes whose selfless deeds helped in dealing with the wicked problem faced during disaster situation have indubitably ensured betterment of the mankind in general.

Recognizing and acknowledging the contribution of these institutions from various fields of the society would be present at the award ceremony. Chief Guest of the Valedictory Session, Shri Shashidhar Reddy, Hon'ble Vice Chairman, National Disaster Management Authority,Government of India has kindly consented to felicitate those organizations who have been selected by the Jury for their exemplary services during the disaster situation(s). Dr. Anil Kakodkar, DAE Homi Bhabha Chair Professor and Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, Government of India has kindly accepted to be the Guests of Honour of the Valedictory Session. 


News related to B Schools, Companies, Industry etc....